Wandering Lizard

An online magazine with information related to attractions, lodging, dining,
and travel resources in selected areas of Arizona

Pima County

Tucson - County Seat

Tucson, Arizona, is located 118 miles southeast of Phoenix on Interstate Highway 10 in the southeastern portion of the state. Paleolithic hunter-gathers lived in the area a millennium ago and the Hohokam culture dominated the region from 200 A.D. until 1450 A.D. The Pima and Tohono O'odham peoples lived here when the Spanish arrived in the sixteenth century. Jesuit Missionary Francisco Kino visited the area very late in the seventeenth century. Spanish soldiers under the command of Hugo O'Connor established the Tucson Presidio in 1775 and Spanish settlers moved into the area in 1776. What eventually became Tucson City was originally an Indian village called Sttok-zone which means water at the foot of black mountain. The Gadsen Purchase made Tucson a part of the United States in 1854. From 1867 until 1877 Tucson served as the capital of the Arizona Territory. The Southern Pacific Railroad reached Tucson in 1880. Today it is an important regional center.

Apache County | Cochise County | Coconino County | Gila County | Graham County
Greenlee County | La Paz County | Maricopa County | Mohave County | Navajo County
Pima County | Pinal County | Santa Cruz County | Yavapai County | Yuma County
Arizona Index | Map of Arizona Counties